Blog Update: Unmotivated, Creatively Uninspired and K-Drama Trash

I barely ever do update posts. But having been 1 month since my last post, I thought one was needed.

Where have I been? Why haven’t I been active?

I’ve honestly been uninspired and unmotivated.

Not saying I’m going to quit blogging, but it’s going a bit slow at the moment. I had a bunch of posts lined up with photos and everything, ready to write and post. Now looking at them just makes me think, “I was going to post that?” In addition to being ever so slightly repulsed by what past-me was going to do with this blog, I haven’t recently been like “oh, that would make a great blog post!” at all.

Reflecting on my un-motivation, I don’t know if it’s just me, but there have been a plethora of things that I’ve started out completely motivated, and lost interest either because I didn’t like where it was going, I wasn’t getting out of it what I expected, or I just lost interest. Multiple fan accounts on a variety of social media platforms, instagram editing accounts, writing stories on a variety of sites later, and I guess it’s now blogging.

I have no idea where I’m going to take this blog. It’s just such an odd mixture of baking and beauty, and I don’t know which way to go. I love writing baking posts, but the recipe sharing I find tedious, and the majority of what I bake isn’t awfully interesting or pretty. I love writing about makeup, but I kind of suck at it. Also, I never buy brand new products to review, as I’m always the kind of person who does intense research before purchasing anything above $5. It’s almost as if the things that I love just aren’t blog-worthy enough. This might just be a slump I’m going through, but hopefully, it’ll all work out well and I’ll definitely make sure to update you guys.

On a completely different note on where have I been this past month?

I’VE TURNED INTO ABSOLUTE K-DRAMA TRASH.

If you follow my twitter at all, you might’ve noticed your timeline being filled with retweets of gorgeous Korean actresses and hot af Korean guys. Just one of the many products of my recent obsession.

What happened is about a month ago, I started watching this Japanese drama called Good Morning Call (which is amazing, I definitely recommend it!) And somehow, I decided to finally start Descendants of the Sun, as I’ve heard numerous people raving about it and I chose to finally see what the fuss was all about.

MY GOODNESS HOW HAD I NOT GOTTEN INTO KOREAN DRAMAS SOONER?

I originally thought Korean dramas were boring, as years ago I watched Dream High and didn’t like it one bit. I thought it was boring, draggy and just wasn’t interesting. (Now that I’m trash now, I’m attributing my past thoughts to my short attention span).

Descendants of the Sun was one of the greatest combinations of action, romance and comedy and I was in love (and still am) with all the characters, couples and especially the OST. After a week post-drama of me just rewatching the drama over and over and listening to the OST non-stop, I started watching some of the more popular dramas and recommendations from friends. Playful Kiss, W-Two Worlds, Sassy Go Go/Cheer Up!, Healer and K2 I’d gotten through all in just under 3 weeks. Episodes are 1 hour long, and seasons for the above ones range from 12-20 episodes, but are usually around 16. That’s equivalent to around 100 hours of kdrama in 3 weeks. THAT’S ONE FIFTH OF MY TIME WATCHING KDRAMA. THAT’S A LOT.

You think that’s bad? The trashiness really started when I watched Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok-Joo.

IT IS ONE OF THE GREATEST DRAMAS TO EVER EXIST. (and I know this is a stupid statement since I’ve barely watched any, but letmehavemymomentok.)

It’s one of the cutest, most adorable dramas that just tackles typical kdrama cliches and stereotypes head on, with amazing characters, comedy and aldfjdls;jgl;asdjf romance. I’m obsessed with Nam Joo-Hyuk and Lee Sung-Kyung and I’m obsessed with the OST (just listen to this song omg it makes me so happy). The show just makes me so happy that when I watched it with friends, I was slapping everyone out of happiness whilst making unintelligible noises of joy. The last episode aired last Thursday, and I’ve been constantly rewatching my favourite parts from the season over and over, furiously trying to get everyone in my life to watch it too by spamming them with cute clips and photos and gifs of the characters and having the OST on repeat. Ijustcan’tletgojustyetok.

I’ve officially become absolute trash, and here’s my twitter for proof. (pls watch it and spam me on twitter how amazing it is ok).

In other news for my life, I’ve been procrastinating my holiday homework/lowkey stressing about Year 11 which I’m starting in like two weeks (so lol wish me luck), trying to set up a small/unofficial baking business and planning a birthday party because it was my birthday last Tuesday! (:

Hope you all are having a lovely day! (: (and pls watch weightlifting fairy kim bok-joo click here or here to watch, here for more information about it, or here for some hot af nam joo-hyuk to further convince you to watch it)

– Jess x

Pinterest: @jeesssx

Twitter: @amessofjess_

Bloglovin: @amessofjess

3 thoughts on “Blog Update: Unmotivated, Creatively Uninspired and K-Drama Trash

Leave a Reply

